Busting the Newbie Blues

I just wanna get this out there – I’ve had a lot of blogs. I mean, A LOT. As I’ve mentioned, it happens every January.  Some very nice, close friends would eventually stop by, but my traffic would generally be zero-point-something, which I felt was kind of depressing, so when school started again, I’d give up on it. Seriously, I could give you a big, embarrassing list. But this time, just this once, I’d like to keep on going. I think WordPress (it’s my first real time here) is a nice place to be, have been reading some really nice stuff and feel that I want to stick around. So I found out about this Busting the Newbie Blues event and found it really cool. I don’t really know how to interact to blogging people, and I think this might be a way to force it, and hopefully find some nice people to read.

My Newbies Questionnaire:

1. When did you start your blog?

This one? January 1st. A day I always want to do something more. And I really mean more, this year I started reviewing Inorganic Chemistry. Still got to go back to it.

2. Why did you start your blog?

Because I was bored and needed a sense of accomplishment. Also because I’d felt, the day before, that I needed to share something that was bugging me, which I never got around doing. Some things kind of feel stupid to write in a journal, sometimes you kind of crave a little interaction. I also looove giving my opinion. On everything. It’s very annoying. Particularly when I  know your opinion. I’m an only child and I think I overcompensate my childhood loneliness with A LOT of arguing. It’s just fun.

3. What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced so far?

I think choosing what college/course I was going to do. It was a choice I had to make approximately a year ago and that I am still not sure. I’ve been kind of groomed to believe that college is the mandatory way to everything, so I took choosing it very seriously. I’d always pictured myself moving out for it too, and complaining about the stuff every college kid living alone complains, and it wouldn’t hurt to finally have a room where my stuff would stay where I’d left them. I think I’d probably be a lot more focused on studying as well. But I visited my soon to be home and totally freaked out (very tiny, very expensive room in eery part of big city) and suddenly all I have left of it is their freshman’s backpack with a big fancy sticker mocking me and making me wonder what ifs. I did plan on reapplying, but I think I finally found some peace where I am. Got brand new, fun friends (may sound mushy but I don’t make friends that easily), most of whom are living alone and doing the stuff I thought I’d be doing, and they are so different from anyone I’ve ever known, I feel like maaybe I can have some progress even under the wings of my parents.

Come to think of it, maybe the biggest challenge was getting into all colleges – and then having to choose. Lots of training to pass entrance exams. Today I kind of wonder if that was the best way we could have spent our time. It all seemed so stupid once I got to college.

4. What do you find most discouraging about being a new blogger?

If I get too caught up in it, I’ll write and write and write to the point where I’m not really living enough to write something interesting. (In fact, my old blogs have several repeated themes.) But I’m taking driving classes, which are forcing me to interact to people and to daydream a lot, plus my reading volume and concentration have improved from waiting so long for such classes to begin. I think then, the most discouraging factor is writing to no-one. There’s nothing sadder than an actual online diary. I wouldn’t even need to password it, it would be privet.

5. What do you find most encouraging?

As I might have mentioned, I like giving my opinion. I think it’s kind of universal. Give me an excuse and I’ll babble away. Feels kind of special when people actually take time and read what you wrote. I had a friend who even quoted me – teasingly, but it still felt very special.

6. What do you like best about the blogs you read? Have you tried to replicate this in your blog?

I remember – a looong time ago – I was a frequent reader of a blog that had a picture in every post. It felt very comfortable to read it and I even found myself eager for the next picture. I replicated it some time ago, and was trying to do so here, but it felt weird with this template (which I loved) and it’s kind of a hassle to take and upload pictures when what you’re really looking forward to is writing. I like quotes too, but I don’t know many, so I don’t even go there. Uuh, and those blogs that include a new word in a different language in every post? I used to read one in Swedish that was so funny and cute! Somehow got misplaced in my bookmarks.

Actually, what I really like are references. Once I read an essay in the newspaper and it illustrated the issue with an example and I thought it was amazing. I was 8, I think. Later, studying for the entrance exams, I bumped into it again and discovered the proposal demanded that case to be included, which kind of broke the magic, but it’s what I still do when I’m writing with a point. And I generally don’t write with a point online. Gotta change that.

7. What do you dislike about blogs you’ve read? Do you try to avoid this?

I kind of like long posts (wonder why!), and I like it when it looks like the blogger is writing/talking to you. I think it conveys that you’re actually a person. It doesn’t have to be super informal (like that girl who says “wtf” at the end of every line, though it works for her), but sometimes I bump into blogs that sound like they could have been seen in a generic company’s website, and it bothers me. It’s a blog! Have fuun!

As you can see, that doesn’t seem to be a problem with me – I loove doubling letters and italic-ing and CAPSLOCKING things. Sorry if you’re bothered by it.

8. Any advice for other new bloggers?

Never take advice from someone with as low traffic and as many blog attempts as me.

9. Any questions you’d like to ask newbie or established bloggers?

What else do you love? I know this is an event for YA Book blogs or something, and I’m sure I could (and hopefully will) find out about your taste in books and characters and plots if I just browse through your posts, but what else puts a smile on your face and an eagerness to your heart?

For me, that’s hearing the rain on my window, getting a problem right, feeling at ease with someone I don’t know so well, waking up from a really good dream I can’t remember, feeling thought of… I don’t know exactly. Sometimes I feel like I’ve finally found The Thing, you know? The Thing that Amelie Poulain’s narrator guy would say when they mentioned my character. The Thing that always makes me happy and calm and bubbly. I’m not very used to paying attention to how I feel and sometimes it is surprising. And then I forget. Ha.

Uh! I have a book related question! I’ve been looking for quite some time a book with a very strong female or male lead that would have excellent comebacks, like all the things you wanted to say but couldn’t or didn’t think of. Any suggestions will be hugely appreciated!

10. Is there anything you’d like to tell us about your blog? Feel free to link a few of your favorite posts or posts you wish had more comments.

I don’t honestly know what this blog really is. Maybe that’s why I still haven’t christened it anything seemingly Cult and obscure. I’m pretty sure I’ll never be able to NOT review the books I’m reading, just because I generally feel very strongly about them if I carried them through. Some TV shows and movies will be inevitable as well (I’m rewatching the entire Gilmore Girl series with my mom, for the second time). I guess some ramblings. I’m really not sure, and I’m hoping by getting to know a little about how you guys blog I’ll find my own way/style and not terminate the blog in March.

Since I’ve been blogging at WordPress for… 9 days, I’ve got like… 5, maybe 6 posts so far? Including the HelloWorld one? So browse as you wish and I’d be really happy with whatever comment you gave me. I’m just needy that way :P However, if you really are looking for reviews, I guess it’s only Pretties and Sleep (vaguely on The Luxe) for now. Or my previous blog, I’d reviewed Pride & Prejudice (very long and thorough), and if you want to check how my rumbling and babbling goes, there’s this as well. If you could give me constructive feedback on how I wrote then and how to make it interesting for readers, I’d really appreciate.

Oh maaan, I remembered the name of my old, old blog and they’ve deactivated it (bad, bad blog.com)! I had so much stuff there… It lasted two years! Maybe I have copies somewhere… Oh, that’s something you should know, I’m a bit weird when it comes to writing – I keep all school notes, all. I think I have a backup for my favourite posts, that I thought were fun to read after a while. But I may never find them, because I’m not the most organised of people. And anyway, this is about a fresh start.

I babble a lot. Sorry.

If you’ve lasted this far, put a smiley face in your commentary – you rock. Someone should give you a prize for your persistence. I’ll definitely go look at your questionnaire’s answers.

 

Please take a look here too, people. For something fun you might be interested in.

5 thoughts on “Busting the Newbie Blues

  1. haha, I love your reasoning for starting a blog. I think I also was looking for somewhere to share my opinions on books. But then I had the same fears – what if no one ever wanted to read it? I think the key to finding people who were interested in reading my blog was poking around for other blogs that had similar interests, introducing myself (which was so much easier to do over the internet instead of IRL for a shy person like me), and then leaving them a comment that would let them know I took the time to read their post, which people appreciate, obviously.

    You know, for some reason I’m drawing a blank on that book question. The only people I can think of are Artemis Fowl and Jace and Simon from The Mortal Instruments series. I guess I don’t really read many books with snarky characters after all? Hmm.

    :)

    • Never thought about reading Artemis Fowl! Checking out some reviews as we speak, thanks.
      I think most of the really awesome characters are set as the “best friends” instead of being the lead (maybe because it´s hard to have nice plot with people who´re that sure of themselves?), so they don´t really stick to us. Sometimes when I´m rewatching some light romcom or something I get surprised at how many cool, snarky characters I´d completely forgotten about. Poor side characters… :(

  2. Wow! This was a really long post–I loved it! I agree choosing a college and a major can be really stressful, but, in the long run, I think college is what you make of it. I know some people who went to a school not thinking they’d like it (but ended up there for whatever reason–location, financial aid, etc.) and then found out they loved it. And the number of people I know who ended up working in a field not related to their major is astounding. Your major is important, but it doesn’t necessarily limit you or what you do. So I’d say if you’ve found something you enjoy and you’re at peace, then all is well!

    The only book I can think of offhand with a snarky character is Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos. It’s the first in a series about a girl who basically lives in a museum and fights the curses that linger on artifacts. The series is geared toward middle grade readers.

    • Thanks for the soothing. I was/am a reck. Even combined that with appendix surgery – very glad 2011 is over and done with!
      Felt very stupid reading the other bloggers´s questionnaires and realising that the challenge question was related to the blogs – I thought it was a weird question, but didn´t read much into it :P
      These snarky characters seem to be more frequent in kids or early teens books, I wonder why. (Maybe I haven´t outgrown my need to stick my tongue out to annoying people…)

      • Yes, I’m rather excited myself to start over on a new year. I hope you’re doing well after your surgery!

        I think your answer was very interesting, though! Plus, it was really honest, which I appreciated because I felt like you were really trying to connect with people.

        Maybe teens and preteens are supposed to relate more to that need to be a little rebellious. And they’re often a lot more honest with their opinions. I suppose once you get a little older, you realize it is sometimes best to keep your snarky thoughts to yourself–even if it isn’t nearly as amusing. I think, though, that no matter how old you are, you still appreciate that person who has the guts to say what you wouldn’t–even if you know they shouldn’t have.

Leave a Reply

