print(“Hello World!”)

Hii, whoever’s listening. I’ve been off a while, going back and forth to a different city for a congress thing on ChemE I’d applied to months ago. It was at the University I was supposed to have gone to, and I always seem to find an excuse to go back there. Anyways, it was awesome, but I did most of the blogging in my head as it was a bit tricky to include quality internet time waking up at 4 a.m. and getting home by 8 p.m., tired, hungry and sticky (too freaking hot).

I’ll throw some stuff I remember here, so it’ll be messier than usual. Just warning.

This week I’m going to the beach, which is a pretty traditional thing to do around here and I’m not usually very fond of it, but this year is so freaking hot I’m really looking forward to having an excuse for little clothing and diving in to very cold pool/ocean. But that also means very poor or no internet connection ’till next week, unless the hotel has finally entered the 21st century ;)

Meanwhile, you know what I’ve taken up for the beach? (I’m going with my parents and we never leave the hotel from 5pm onwards, so I usually have a LOT of free time. Which is really what the holidays are all about, right?) Python programming. I’m really excited about these courses coming up at Udacity.com (total geek, took the aiclass.com and loved it) and one of them requires considerable Python skills, which I do not possess. Yet. I’m kind of hoping my undergrad knowledge of C will help me there (plus knowledgeable computer dad/bf/friends), but we’ll see. If you’re interested in taking up something new for 6 weeks, or maybe you just looove programming, Udacity is currently offering a course for beginners (no previous programming experience required) that will lead to building a search engine, and one on advanced artificial intelligence, that will lead to programming a self-driving car (Python necessary). It’s from the former Stanford professor, Sebastian Thrun, who’s this good-humoured German fella. His “lectures” on aiclass were amazing and you can see he’s passionate about his work and teaching, which is really, really nice. His speech (somebody put the link on facebook, but I seem to have misplaced it) on the experience of teaching 180k students (20k+ of them successfully completed the course) as opposed to 20-100 at a physical class was pretty cool too – it was there that revealed that he couldn’t go back to a small classroom after that, and was no longer a Stanford professor. I had tears. The guy is really something.

Anyways, on to the random posts!

Have a great week, everyone!

 

(Nice, weird-ish songs, courtesy of bf –

Safety Dance – Men without hats

Cat food – King Crimson )

*Geeky shirt from here.

Leave a Reply

