Too old, too young

I was looking up on Goodreads some of the promising books from this blog (heart-covered books for the year, in honor of Valentines Day), and though I added three of them to my list (how can I resist a book called The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, featuring British love interest?) I was kind of bummed about the amount of highschool-set stories. Doesn’t it sound kind of iffy to read about them when you’re finally out of there? Not that any of them remotely looked like my highschool, but still… I think I’d like to read some chick flicks set in college. Even if they wouldn’t look like my college either. Heck, I’m even settling for sororities. Just as long as the main character isn’t 17.

I’m saying this full aware I’ll read more of them in the near-future. But asking for recommendations nonetheless. Care to help me?

It’s just a bit weird to realise all my books are either about highschool students or married/soon-to-be-married/divorced women in their mid 20s or early 30s. What about awkwardly transitioning 19 year olds still living with their parents? Too young to be reading about divorcees!

(Picture from here, gotta love Leeds Castle)

2 thoughts on “Too old, too young

  1. Most of my books fit into these two categories too! I love reading Young Adult novels because they’re often quick, easy reads, but I prefer when they don’t focus too much on the high school aspect.

    I don’t know many set in college, but here are the few I can think about right now:
    – The Secret Society Girl series by Diana Peterfreund. 4 books set in college, secret society, a bit of sexy moments and mysteries, etc. They’re okay as long as you don’t take them too seriously. :)
    – The Ivy by Lauren Kunze and Rina Onur; first year at Harvard. I haven’t read it though.
    – Also, may I suggest this list of novels set mostly in college years : http://www.goodreads.com/list/show/9525.New_Adult_Literature#205057

    I hope this helps; sorry for the long comment! :)

    • Thanks for the suggestions, I’ve looked them up and they look so good! Both plot and cover :P The Ivy covers are so pretty, how could anyone resist? Hopefully they will appear in the bookshop before I venture to BWB again.
      Love long comments :D

Leave a Reply

