Twenties Girl

(I´m sorta skipping class here, be proud.)

If you´re anything like me, if you read the back cover to Twenties Girl (Sophie Kinsella) you won´t want to actually read it. It says  it´s a ghost story. A contemporary ghost story. Not particularly fond of them. But I didn´t even glance at the description when I saw it was from Sophie Kinsella. Sophie Kinsella books make me happy.

At a especially boring Calc class last week I found out it isn´t reeeally all about the ghost of the main character´s great aunt. Or rather, the ghost is there, pretty much every page, but it isn´t really all about her being a ghost. And, to be fair, it´s not even so much about her wanting her neckless back (like the cover claims). It´s more about what was like to be young and lively in the 1920s, about pushing your limits a little, and a bit of family intrigue to stir things up.

Sadie, the great-aunt, is a non-romantic, practical, fun 20s girl. There´s a big, unexpected, lovely twist by the end but that´s pretty much it. She´s got a few pearls of wisdom I have quoted at the end there. It´s a nice contrast to Lara Lington, the main character, who is as annoying as can be for most of the book, chasing around an ex-boyfriend to the point where he changed his number so she´d stop text-stalking him. She´s very big on love, partership, forever – the works. Dunno about you, but that bugs me. A LOT.

Sadie can also make people bend to her will – apparently when ghosts scream at people repeatedly, the words become their thoughts and eventually they cave and do what the ghosts want. Creepy. And a veery good excuse for the several funny scenes in the book.

There are two things that I really, really liked in this book – the first is just this new perspective suggested by Sadie, one that allows people to hold their heads up, and stir themselves a cocktail when things go bad, instead of wallowing endlessly (there´s a quote in there somewhere, but I couldn´t find it on Goodreads). The second is just sort of diluting the idea of what´s proper and what´s embarrassing. That sounded weird. Let me try to explain. Sadie asks Lara to do some stuff for her, in addition to finding the awesome dragonfly/pearl neckless I´ve been looking out to buy, she wants her to dance in a bar, dress as a twenties girl, ask a stranger out… During all those scenes I was so embarrassed for her, clutching at the book, thinking “Poor Lara, can´t believe she´s actually doing it”, when I realised how silly it was.  So what if she entered the conference room of a company she did not work in, late, and asked the guy out, in front of all those people she´d never met? It sounds like fun.

Not to sound too… I don´t know, but why don´t we do something a little crazy just for the hell of it sometimes too? Why should we need a 1920s ghost to make us have a little fun?

Preferably not declaring your great-aunt, who you´ve never met, was murdered, at said aunt´s funeral, and repeating that to the police when they question you, but you get what I mean.

Quotes from Sadie:

“When I was your age, if a boy behaved badly, one simply scored his name out from one’s dance card. ”

“You can want and want and want, but if he doesn’t want you back … you might as well wish the sky were red.”

All quotes on Goodreads

Anywho, excellent quick read that makes you all bubbly happy by the end. And wanting more.

´Till next time

PS –

Reorganised my bookcase (apparently if I move it with all the books inside it, something really bad will happen) - don't my Sophie Kinsellas look happy? Need moore.

4 thoughts on “Twenties Girl

  1. I love books that get you away from boring situations or just a light read. I’m going to the beach this week so I may pick up one of her books per your recommendation. Since she’s a “happy” read. : )

Leave a Reply

